The Iliad, Book One: Rage

It’s been several years since I’ve  read The Iliad. I’m fairly sure that was the Lattimore translation. I was spurred to reread it recently as I’ve written about elsewhere – and “elseforum” as we used to say. I’ll be reading two texts this time around: an e-version  of a recent Robert Fagles translation, and the – I’ll call them reimaginings – of The Iliad as written by the recently deceased Christopher Logue. I had read Logue with relish awhile back, but only the inspired War Music. War Music is Logue’s take on Books One-Four and Books Sixteen-Nineteen. Let’s  get started. First Fagles. [Continues on the Iliad Page]

5 Comments

Filed under Books

5 responses to “The Iliad, Book One: Rage

  1. I love, love, love this. I haven’t read this since high school, and I’m not sure when I will again, but I am more than happy to do it vicariously through your posts. Wonderful!

  2. Me, too!

    I say drop the Lattimore. For now. And make it All Charlie Permanently Logue.

    The closest we’ll get to reading it together, my friend.

  3. Thanks much, Kris.

    Pat, eternally grateful for your turning me on to Logue several years ago. Really deepens the understanding of Homer. As for Fagles, as Van says: “Too Late to Stop Now”

  4. Pingback: Book Appreciation: The Odyssey, Robert Fagles (Translator) « Wandering Mirages

  5. Pingback: Book Appreciation: The Odyssey by Homer, Robert Fagles (Translator) « Wandering Mirages

Leave a comment