IQ84: The Soundtrack (Part I)

It’s Only a Paper Moon: I listened to the 1961 Frank Sinatra version with the Nelson Riddle Orchestra. Phoniness. “It’s a Barnum and Bailey world.” Phoniness was a Big Concept back in the 50’s. The world is still “just as phony as it can be” but we’ve become inured to it these days.

Janacek’s Sinfonietta: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Karel Ancerl. Murakami writes that this is perhaps “not ideal music to hear in a taxi caught in traffic”. Oddly enough, the first movement (Allegro) belies that thought. Brass, brass, and more brass. Riding in the taxi, Aomame gives the brief history of the work.

Billy Jean, Michael Jackson (Thriller): Not a MJ fan in the least, but this is one of the few songs I can listen to and nod my head. It’s nothing if not catchy. “I am the one”, as Aomame slips over a locked gate.  of an emergency expressway exit.

Bach: The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I, BWV 846-853: Glenn Gould of course. It’s always surprising how familiar these are and how new sounding each time. Like mathematical sequences.

In a Akasaka hotel  bar. Sweet Lorraine, The Nat King Cole Trio. Just found joy.  It’s Only A Paper Moon (see above)

4 Comments

Filed under Books, Music

4 responses to “IQ84: The Soundtrack (Part I)

  1. I currently have 1Q84 sitting on my coffee table waiting to be read. What are your thoughts about so far?

  2. Kris-
    I’m part way into Book 2, and I can hardly put it down. This is one of those books that go back and forth between two characters, alternating Chapters. I hate to see one Chapter end (and leave the character), only to finish the next Chapter and hate to leave that one.

    Full of ideas, but told in that simple Murakami style that breezes along. A great book so far.

  3. Good to hear, I’m looking forward to reading it!

  4. Pingback: 1Q84 ~ Haruki Murakami | Chazz W

Leave a Reply

