Hockey Town?

I’ve never been much of a hockey fan. I always say this is because I wasn’t brought up here, having grown up in South Florida. Meaning as a kid I never played the game. Played baseball, of course. Played football? Sure. Played basketball? Yes I did. When I say “played”, this was all unorganized pick-up games. The baseball was softball for the most part. The basketball was half-court at the schoolyard, just horse more often than not. Football was mostly of the “touch” variety, sometimes with no more than a half-dozen players. Still, we played all the games. When people ask me if I ever skated, I say I roller skated. When people ask me if I ever skied, I say I water skied. See what I mean? Hockey is not in my DNA. And the uniforms are just silly.

But I know there are many who enjoy the sport, especially in Boston. But there are large pockets of the country (not to mention the world) where hockey just is not even an afterthought. So it is with some amusement that I tolerate the rabids who trumpet hockey as the most this and the most that. Especially: “There is nothing  like the excitement of a game seven in hockey”. Well, there is actually. There’s a game seven in basketball. There’s a game seven in baseball. Why these are supposedly less exciting than the hockey ultimate game for the championship I haven’t a clue. They even go so far as to say that The Cup is the best trophy of all the games. I say of the Stanley Cup that it’s about as silly looking as the player uniforms

Finally, for the first time in forty years or something, Boston fans have a team that can be legitimately expected to do some damage in the playoffs. For some reason, this prompts these same fans to maintain that Boston is really a hockey town. Guess what? Each of the fans of the other major sports (I’m in a generous mood to refer to hockey as a “major sport”) would probably make the same claim. For myself, I’d claim that mantle for baseball. But to be honest, it’s all grown tiring to listen to. I’ll be glad when it’s all over.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports

Leave a Reply

