Room ~ Emma Donoghue

Let me say I went out immediately and picked up Emma Donoghue‘s earlier novel, Slammerkin. After I finish my Booker thing, that’s the very next book I’ll read. I remember some good buzz about that  one from some reader friends, but it never got on my list. Donoghue’s Room takes a page out of the news (unfortunately all too familiar), and constructs a wildly inventive story out of headline horror. And constructs is the right word, because every detail is meticulously drawn, every word selected for maximum effect.

[More at Booker 2010 Page]

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “Room ~ Emma Donoghue

  1. Pingback: Year End Wrap: New Beginnings | Chazz W

Leave a Reply

