He’s only 5’2″ (Iggy) and He’s only 5’3″ (Pablo)

My buddy Lisa Peet tweeted a few days ago about her project of replacing vinyl with cd’s and mentioned Iggy Pop’s Lust For Life. Her favorite album at 17. My favorite album at 32. Yeah, it’s one of the greatest car songs ever. Mine was on cassette for traveling purposes. Blasting that baby in the car was a transcendent experience. Got me thinkin’ about car songs. You know the ones.Listening to these, all of a sudden you’re doing eighty.

Another of my favorite car songs was Modern Lovers’ Roadrunner. There was a special thrill coming in to Boston on Route 2. There’s a hill and at the top, the city is spread out before you. Sometimes, and this is the truth, I’d drive out west of Boston just a little bit so I could make that crest with Jonathan “I’m in love with rock ‘n roll” Richman doing his roadrunner count.

There’s different car songs, too. Both of those I’ve mentioned naturally involved speed.  But there are cruising car songs too. In traffic car songs. Like (again, Modern Lovers) Pablo Picasso. This one is a twenty mph slow ride…

Well the girls would turn the color
Of the avocado when he would drive
Down their street in his El Dorado
He could walk down your street
And girls could not resist his stare
Pablo Picasso never got called an asshole
Not like you
Alright

One of my biggest regrets was selling off my vinyls before I transferred them to CD. What a fool I was. I just wanted to strip down and so I wouldn’t have to lug all those boxes around anymore. Big mistake


1 Comment

Filed under Music

One response to “He’s only 5’2″ (Iggy) and He’s only 5’3″ (Pablo)

  1. Oh! That Modern Lovers album is another one I need to get for the car. Roadrunner is another one of those songs, and you got it exactly. Although another great moment from that cut? Was driving past the Stop’n’Shop with my kid when he was little, and we would sing that lyric every single time. Ahh.

Leave a Reply

