Two Brothers ~ (France, 2004) ~ DVD

I was surprised when I goosed this in the player and I realized it was an animal movie. Honestly, I don’t why it got in my queue. I very nearly didn’t watch it. By the preview trailers  that always show before the feature, it was obviously a ‘kid’s’ movie. Ultimately, I relented, and damn it – was entertained! It follows form for these things (sentimental, one-dimensional characters), but the animal photography is so amazing, that you can’t not watch after you start. The tigers have a helluva lot more personality than the actors do.

Guy Pearce holds up the human end of the spectrum admirably, though. As for the tigers, I don’t know the process involved here. At first I thought this was some kind of animation, but it appears that that is minimal, though there is some.

The film is rated PG, and I’m not sure why. There is the threat of violence between beasts, and a number of animals are “shot”, but it’s not really bloody at any point. Maybe kids 10 and up? If you’ve got kids around or above that age, then this DVD would make for a quality family viewing experience.

♦♦♦

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

