Wattstax

Seven years after the Watts riots, there was the Watts Summer festival. Captured in the musical documentary, Wattstax. I was channel surfing and came across this, already half over. I’d seen it many years ago, but it caught my attention. Just as I stop by, there’s Rufus Thomas in an outrageous pink outfit with white mid-calf length boots. Do the Funky Chicken now.

Rufus was infectious and although I came in late, I do believe that this was the highlight. And there’s Jesse Jackson with a crazy-early 70’s Afro introducing Issac Hayes. I am somebody. And Mr Hot Buttered Soul was certainly somebody too, back in the day. Richard Pryor was interspersed with the music. That man was one funny……well, you know.

It looked like a beautiful summer day as everyone cut loose. Dig those moves. Sorry I was late to the party. Right on.

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

