Revolutionary Road ~ (2008, USA) ~ DVD

RevRdI put off viewing this for awhile, having had no burning desire to see it. It was as depressing as I thought it would be, but a better movie than I would have thought possible. I’m just not a big fan of the stultified 50’s domestic scene (with some exceptions). I was there as an observer, after all. So, did the mirror reflect the times more realistically that the actual? Who is to say

Anyway, Leonardo and Kate were just great.  As with most movies of those times, I hope I don’t get lung cancer from just watching.

I never read the book, so I wonder. In the movie, my sympathies were more with April Wheeler, than with Frank. Frank was somewhat of a coward, and left April hanging out to dry in many respects.  The film is a study in the ways we don’t communicate. In the closing scene the realtor’s (Kathy Bates’) husband turns down his hearing aid as his wife begns to drone on and on and on. Seems he’s hear it all before. Fade to black. Great touch.

♦♦♦

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

