Changeling ~ (USA, 2008) ~ DVD

changelingMany movies that come out, I put right on my DVD Netflix queue. Having no intention of paying actual cash to see it, I am curious and figure a DVD viewing can’t hurt. Maybe waste a few hours, but in the end, no real harm done. This was one of those movies. I knew Angelina Jolie was in it, but quickly forgot everything else.  I didn’t even remember it was a Clint Eastwood directed film. And I probably never did know that Jeffrey Donovan (of Burn Notice fame) was in it either.

I also thought vaguely of Changeling as a horror film. Probably because of the name. But of course, that’s not what it is at all. Based on a true story, it’s a look back at depression era Los Angeles, police corruption, and the frailty of our civil rights. From it’s opening scene which pans as black and white, but slowly dissolves into muted color, the look and feel of the movie is just right. Jolie is a bit “large” for the part, and Donovan’s police Captain is not far enough removed fro his USA series role. Everyone else though, provides excellent back-up, including Amy Ryan, and Michael Kelly.

Almost too shocking to be believable, the film has a credibility problem. Despite the fact that this all actually happened. Well, sometimes, made up stories can be more believable that the real thing. How about that!

♦♦♦

2 Comments

Filed under Movies

2 responses to “Changeling ~ (USA, 2008) ~ DVD

  1. booksandmusings

    We ourselves, i.e me and my husband saw changeling on DVD and did not bother buying tickets etc. and going out to a theatre. I thought almost the same things as you, except that I felt Angelina was not right for the part, though she did her best I guess. I had to remind myself it was a Clint Eastwood movie. The end was a bit drab but the mother continues to be hopeful. On the whole, a one time watch!

  2. chazzw

    One time watch. Deefinitely. But since it’s not necessarily memorable – just remember you’ve watched it already!

Leave a Reply

